• English
  • Hindi
  • Marathi
  • Telugu
  • Urdu

5 Sheets- Panch Kosha


Vedic texts mention that human body is only the physical abode of soul. The soul is considered to be enveloped in five sheaths which we call as Pancha kosha.

The Atman is at the center of the Bliss sheath.

Kosha (also, Kosa) is referred to as "sheath", one of five (or seven) coverings of the Atman or Self according to Vedantic philosophy. According to the Kosha system in Yogic philosophy, the nature of being human encompasses physical and psychological aspects that function as one holistic system. The Kosha system refers to these different aspects as layers of subjective experience. Layers range from the dense physical body to the more subtle levels of emotions, mind and spirit.

The Yoga path of Self-realization is one of progressively moving inward, through each of those lampshades, so as to experience the purity at the eternal center of consciousness, while at the same time allowing that purity to animate through our individuality. These five levels are called koshas, which literally means sheaths.

  • 5 Sheaths – Five layers of the human existence
  • Vedanta Pancha kosha
  • 5 Sheaths: Divided into 3 Bodies.
  • Annamay Kosh (Food Sheath
  • Pranmay Kosh (Vital Air Sheath)
  • Manomay Kosh (Mind Sheath)
  • Vigyanmay Kosh (Intellect Sheath)
  • Aanandmay Kosh (Bliss Sheath
  • God resides in Sat Kosha
  • Ashtanga Yoga
  • Yamas
  • Niyama
  • Yogasanas
  • Pranayama
  • pratyahar
  • Dharana
  • Dhyan
  • Samadhi
  • Meditation
  • What meditation is and how does it work
  • Meditation Techniques
  • Simple Healing Meditation for Beginners
Copy Protected by Chetans WP-Copyprotect.